## CITRUS RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION, INC.

## Governance Committee Meeting Minutes October 10, 2013

A meeting of the Governance Committee of the Citrus Research and Development Foundation, Inc. was held on October 10, 2013 at Ben Hill Griffin Hall, Lake Alfred, FL. The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Bob Stambaugh. The meeting was properly noticed and recorded. Roll was called and a quorum was present. Committee members present were Mr. Stambaugh and Mr. Kress. Committee members participating by phone were Dr. Joyce and Mr. Newlin. Also present were Dr. Browning, Dr. Burns, Mr. Sparks, Mr. Meadows, Ms. Nowicki and Ms. Johnson. Mr. Jerkins participated by telephone.

Mr. Kress moved to accept the minutes of the April 17, 2013 meeting. The motion was seconded by Mr. Newlin and passed unanimously.

Mr. Stambaugh opened the discussion on the proposal for indirect costs from UF, IFAS. CRDF was informed by UF, IFAS that they proposed a 10% indirect cost to be added to all CRDF research contracts effective January 2014 through December 2016. The rate would then be reviewed again for January 2017. Existing contracts would not be subject to the new policy.

The committee looked at the proposed IDC policy from the perspective of CRDF and Growers:

- This would impact both CRDF and UF during the current fiscal year (budgets for this fiscal year have been approved)
- The timeline to implement the January 2014 proposal requires several immediate actions, including advising CATP13 proposal authors of the change as they prepare the invited proposals.
- Citrus growers have been engaged in funding discussions dating back to the FCPRAC, and will need to be consulted as the IDC policy is considered

The committee asked if Dr. Browning could work on a timeline showing how a revised IDC policy would affect processes and budgets. Discussion of steps forward followed including inviting UF, IFAS administration to subsequent CRDF discussions of this proposed policy.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:52 a.m.

Minutes submitted by Diane Johnson