In April 2009, the National Academies of Science, at the request of the Florida Department of Citrus, formed the National Research Committee on Strategic Planning for the Florida Citrus Industry: Addressing the Citrus Greening Disease (Huanglongbing). At the same time, the forward-looking citrus industry in Florida initiated the Citrus Research and Development Foundation. When the National Research Council’s report was published in March, 2010 it included a recommendation that one organization be identified and empowered to have oversight responsibility over HLB research and development efforts.

The Citrus Research and Development Foundation is a non-profit corporation organized under Florida State laws as a Direct Support Organization of the University of Florida.

The Mission of the Foundation is to “Advance disease and production research and product development activities to ensure the survival and competitiveness of Florida’s citrus growers through innovation”.

The organization is headed by a 13-member Board of Directors that includes individuals from industry, academia and government. The COO handles the day-to-day management of business affairs, and Program Managers oversee the research and commercial product delivery project portfolios.

2018 Board of Directors:

N. Larry Black, Jr., President

Vacant, Vice President

Jonathan Ned Hancock, Treasurer

Jerome H. (Jerry) Newlin, Secretary

Rob Atchley

Dr. Jacqueline K. Burns

Joe L. Davis, Jr.

Dr. Greg Hodges

David Howard

Charlie Lykes, Jr.

Dr. Jeanna Mastrodicasa

William B. (Ben) McLean III

John Updike


Wayne H. Simmons

Hugh W. Thompson III







From left: Tom Jerkins, Larry Black, Ricke Kress, 
Jackie Burns, Ned Hancock, Hugh Thompson III, 
Bobby Barben, Wayne Simmons, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, 
Joe Davis Jr., Ben McLean, Jerry Newlin.  
Missing from photo: Greg Hodges


Mr. Rick Dantzler, COO      [email protected]
Audrey Nowicki, Office Manager        [email protected]
Brandy Brown, Program Assistant     [email protected]


Catherine N. Hatcher, Ph.D. – HLB Resistance    [email protected]
James Syvertsen, Ph.D. – Horticultural Practices       [email protected]

CRDF 2016-17 Annual Report

CRDF 2014-15 Annual Report